DHANGADHI DECLARATION ON DIGNIFIED MENSTRUATION MANAGEMENT

(Vice-Chairs' DMM Workshop, 11th February 2020)

Clause 38 of Constitution of Nepal, 2015 has ensured the equal lineage right, the right to safe motherhood and reproductive health, and the right against physical, mental, sexual, psychological or other form of violence or exploitation on grounds of religion, social, cultural tradition, practice or on any other grounds. The Criminal code (act), 2019 has prohibited any kind of discrimination and misbehaviour by keeping menstruating women confined in a chhau-hut and punishment is also provisioned for doing so. Similarly, the Local Government Operation Act, 2019 chapter 3, clause 11 has given the right to local government for eradication of social misbeliefs and social malpractices like chhaupadi. Following the provisions of national legislation, and enhancing social development processes in order to support achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals, RVWMRP working core RMs vice chairpersons jointly issued a declaration and committed to implement it under their own leadership, with the common slogan of "Dignified Menstruation Management with Proper Hygiene, Safety and Self-respect" during the conference conducted on $10 - 11^{\text{th}}$ February 2020 in Dhangadhi, under the chairpersonship of Dipayal Silgadhi Municipality Mayor, and with Sudurpaschim Provincial Assembly Deputy Speaker as chief guest.

- 1. We commit to declare our RM total sanitized and chhau-hut fee within two years, formulating a strategic plan and setting targets through a DMM conference at RM level, fully pursuing the existing act, policy, directives and manuals of federal, provincial and local level in order to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals.
- 2. We shall coordinate and lobby in a planned way with federal, provincial and local government for required financial resources to implement the DMM campaign under our own leadership, realising that Dignified Menstrual Management is everybody's concern.
- 3. Considering women and adolescent girls as the key victims of chhaupadi practices, we shall organize campaigns, mobilizing child clubs, adolescent girls' networks and mothers' groups, with participation of schools and leadership of women's groups in an integrated way.
- 4. To achieve result-orientated and sustainable changes and to establish a totally sanitised community, we shall develop and implement DMM indicators (as sub indicators of total sanitation) for model household, model community, model school and model ward/RM.
- 5. Considering the total sanitation and DMM campaign as social accountability, self-respect and inevitable factors for sustainable development, we shall develop an "Annual Plan for Total Sanitation and DMM" in each RM and lobby to incorporate it in the policy of the RM for FY 2077/078 with the required financial resources.
- 6. We shall formulate an information bank of development stakeholders and establish a stakeholders' desk in our RMs. We shall develop a common approach among all stakeholders while implementing DMM and total sanitation campaigns and programs.

- 7. To share knowledge, experiences and learning of the WASH and DMM sectors, we shall establish a resource centre in our RMs and coordinate with media through interactions, workshops, information management and publications.
- 8. To implement the DMM campaign effectively, we shall analyse and estimate the required human resources, capacity and formulate strategy to implement it.

Ms. Sarswati Rawal,	Ms. Amrita Budha	Ms. Parwati Rana
Ramaroshan, Achham	Turmakhand, Achham	Dilasaini, Baitadi
Ms. Ms. Bina Bhatta	Ms. Kushma Chand	Ms. Dhanalaxmi Khatri
Pancheshwor, Baitadi	Shivanath, Baitadi	Talkot,Bajhang
Ms. Radhika Kumari Tatala	Ms. Gangu Devi Khadayat	Ms. Sita Thapa
Chhabis Pathibhera, Bajhang	Thalara, Bajhang	Gaumul, Bajura
Ms. Mima Budha	Ms. Kalawati Bhand	Mr. Padam Bahadur Bohara
Swamikartik Khapar, Bajura	Ajayameru, Dadeldhura	Bhageshwor, Dadeldhura
Ms. Jala Kumari Bist	Ms. Chandra Regmi	Ms. Padam Kumari Bist
Aalital, Dadeldhura	Bhgawatimai, Dailekh	Bhairabi, Dailekh
Ms. Amrita Singh	Ms. Urmila Bohara	Ms. Bagamati Thagunna
Naumule, Dailekh	Apihimal, Darchula	Marma, Darchula
Ms. Gauri Devi Thagunna	Ms. Bishna Devi Singh	Ms. Bhagawati Devi Bam
Naugad, Darchula	Sayal, Doti	Bogatan Fudsil, Doti
Ms. Indra Bohara	Ms. Dipa Saud	Ms. Puja Devi Budhamagar
Badikedar, Doti	Chure, Kailali	Mohanyal, Kailali

The Declaration is signed by following Vice-Chairpersons of Following RMs

-000-